View the majestic stonework architecture of Jim Thorpe’s St. Mark’s and St. John’s Episcopal Church. Built between 1867 and 1869, its main building is a stunning tower that seems to pierce the sky, while the insides are marked with tile floors, stained glass windows, and glossy marble constructions.
Iconic features such as an original Otis elevator, Tiffany stained glass windows, and an Austin organ also grace the church. There is even a Caen stone Rerodas, which means “screen behind the altar,” that is a copy of the one in the famous St. George’s chapel in Windsor, England.
Services are still held regularly, and tours are available.
Photography by: Courtney Snyder